Choosing to Breathe

I made a choice. A good choice. To balance my time because I needed time to breathe.

That’s why I decided against participating in the spring homeschooling co-op semester with my kids.

I needed time to breathe.

Time to not overwhelm my schedule with activity.

Time to sit on the porch and watch winter lose its grip while wrapped in a big blanket on my porch swing. 

Soaking in the sun.

Smelling the fresh air.

Watching the neighbors come out.

Talking with them when opportunities arise.

Time to read. 

Dig my roots into the soil that will help me grow.

God’s word.

Others’ stories of grace.

Time to pray.

Pray for my family.

For my neighborhood.

For so many other things.

I made a good choice. Will I continue to choose to do these healing, good things with my time? Or will I just replace one activity I let go of with something else? I still have a choice each day.

Will I choose to do live-giving activities or will I just try to please myself?

Go shopping and waste money on stuff I don’t need?

Binge-watch TV shows or movies?

Just have a diet of entertaining fiction?

Spend endless hours on Facebook and other websites?

Lord, help me to make good choices. To follow you and have a servant’s heart. To know your Spirit of comfort, wisdom, love, healing, and hope.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started