Messy Bed

In my house growing up, I can rarely remember being in my parents’ room as a girl. We all knew it was an off-limits place for us. Contrast that with my room now. I would say I hang out more in my room with my younger kids than anywhere else. I don’t know if I’m proud or embarrassed by this but it is what it is. So the chore I picked as the most challenging for me for this blog prompt is having my bed made.

I don’t get my bed made because of my laziness and enjoying relaxing with my kids in the most comfortable way. Parenting can be tiring and I’ve been parenting for twenty-four years. Often I will homeschool my kids while relaxing on my bed. We pile all the books up on the bed and do our reading, writing, math… My room is also the warmest, brightest room in our drafty, old Victorian house. 

Today I’m being real and posting a current picture of my bed. This morning one daughter was lying on the red pillow with the blue blanket by her. One of our kittens is obsessed with that blanket so my daughter loves to snuggle up by that blanket in case the kitten comes around to snuggle into it with her. It’s her best chance to pet and possibly hold the kitten.

The blankets are pushed back on the other side where another daughter had snuggled in to talk to me while I sat in the room in the rocking chair where I’m sitting now. Next to my bed is a shelf with a basket and a bunch of books. Honestly, I love to lie in bed reading. When I wake up, I peruse my phone and then read my Bible and do some journaling while I lie in bed. 

If I wanted to make my bed every day, it would look great but I’d have to decide to find somewhere less comfortable to do school. I’d give up some snuggle time in bed- some warmth and comfort. I haven’t decided that a beautiful room that I never go in except to sleep is worth giving up the time I enjoy together with my kids in comfort. I know I let this go way overboard with them then doing crafts on my bed and even eating food on my bed, but I don’t have my best quilt that my mother-in-law quilted for us on my bed most of the time for a reason. Everything cleans up.

So it’s challenging for me to make my bed. It challenges me to give up laziness and comfort and time together. But I’ve decided that it’s ok to give up that chore and I’m ok with that. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started