Lazy Week-end or Planned Rejuvenation

I sigh in relief. Another week is done. No more getting up with school subjects on my mind. Will things go smoothly? Will stress reign or peace? What about lunchtime? Will today be one of the fun days of laughter and hilarity or one of those days of conflict?

How many trips will the kids convince me to take to different stores? How many fish will my fish-obsessed daughter want to get this week? OK. We don’t get fish every week. How tired will I be by the end of making supper? Now the week-end looms ahead. What should it be filled with?

Often I start with visions of getting my habitual Saturday morning cleaning done and then relaxing (aka being lazy). But relaxing often doesn’t actually mean relaxing. When nothing is planned, that’s when chaos often reigns.

This Friday night I’m thinking about what should make up my week-end. What activities or lack of them would benefit myself and my family the most?

Recently I read an article titled “Rest Takes Work” by Tim Challies. He talks about his Christmas vacation and how, because of no planning, he ended up not doing much of anything that was worthwhile, but instead wasted time on YouTube and other websites. After explaining this, Tim states, “It was only then that I remembered that I rest best when I rest according to at least some kind of a plan. I just don’t have the instincts or the self-control or the character to make something when I’ve planned nothing.”

I think resting according to some kind of beneficial plan would be extremely beneficial to me. I so often just want to relax but have no idea what that should look like, nor do the kids seem to be on the same page with my plan to relax. I then expect my husband to help make that happen for me when I haven’t communicated any expectations to him. I end up getting resentful when I don’t get whatever rest I thought might magically come my way.

Here are some ideas for what my week-end could look like after my Saturday clean-up time. I could take the kids somewhere outside since the weather is supposed to warm up. It’s been extremely cold so there might be ice along a nearby creek to explore. I know getting outside would be good for me even if it isn’t relaxing.

There are a number of books and podcasts I could listen to, assuming I can have some quiet time. We could do a puzzle together or a game. Maybe there’s someone we could help in some way or have over. Unfortunately, I’m always very last minute at trying to get together with people which usually doesn’t work for them. Maybe I could plan ahead for a future week-end.

Sundays always involve church and church activities. Finally, I should see what my husband has on his mind and find out how I can help him to have a refreshing week-end as well. It’s easy to focus on what I think are my own needs and ignore his.

Unfortunately I wouldn’t call this much of a plan yet, as I need input from other family members to make these decisions, but hopefully thinking through some ideas will motivate me to start communicating with them to make a plan that combines restful and rejuvenating activities to bless all of us. and others What activities do you have planned for your week-end?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started